Game Changers Annual Luncheon

October 26, 2016

11:00 a.m. - 1:00 p.m.

JW Marriott Austin

Women in STEM Awards

Honoring Outstanding Women in STEM

 About the Event

The Game Changers Annual Luncheon is a special celebration honoring women who have made a significant impact locally or nationally utilizing their STEM (science, technology, engineering and math) education, with all proceeds benefiting Girlstart.


The event's mission is to support STEM education and raises critical funds to support Girlstart's core initiatives including free after school STEM programs. Learn more about Girlstart After School.


Sponsorship & Ticket Information

Download Sponsorship Packet here.
Individual tickets (if available) will go on sale in August.  


2016 Women in STEM will be announced in July!


Event Emcee 
Chikage Windler
Chief Meteorologist KEYE-TV

Chikage Windler is the Chief Meteorologist at KEYE-TV, the CBS station in Austin. She has worked as a broadcast meteorologist for 16 years at stations in Boston, Minneapolis-St. Paul, Washington, DC, Dallas, Indianapolis and Norfolk, Virginia, and served as a fill-in meteorologist at ABC's Good Morning America and ABC World News. Chikage caught the "weather bug" growing up in Oklahoma, the heart of Tornado Alley and loves sharing her passion for weather with everyone she meets.


 2015 Women in STEM Awards

Alice Brooks
Co-Founder, Roominate

Alice Brooks is co-founder of Roominate. Alice graduated from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology in 2010 with a B.S. in Mechanical Engineering. She received her Masters in Mechanical Engineering from Stanford in June 2012. She has also interned at Nest Labs.

Alice grew up playing in her dad’s robotics lab and made her first toy when she was only eight years old. When she asked her dad for a Barbie, he gave her a saw instead. So she made her own doll out of wood and nails!

Bettina Chen
Co-Founder, Roominate

Bettina Chen is co-founder of Roominate. Bettina graduated from the California Institute of Technology in 2010 with a B.S. in Electrical Engineering. She received her Masters in Electrical Engineering from Stanford in March 2012. Bettina has conducted research on bionic contact lenses and worked as an electrical design engineer at Discera and KLA-Tencor.

As a young girl, Bettina loved Lego and built cities filled with spaceships with her older brother. These days, she is an avid ultimate frisbee player and plays on BW Ultimate, a competitive Bay Area mixed club team.

Laura Bosworth
Chief Executive Officer and Co-Founder, TeVido BioDevices

Laura Bosworth is CEO and co-founder of TeVido BioDevices, a biotech startup that uses innovative 3D printing to create custom breast implants and grafts, made from a woman’s own cells, for reconstruction after cancer treatment. Ms. Bosworth is a former Fortune 50 executive with 25 years of cross-functional industry experience.

She mentors “start-ups” and is co-founder of a Women’s Entrepreneurship Accelerator, Avinde.org. She serves on numerous boards: UTEP’s College of Engineering Advisory Board, Chair at SafePlace  (domestic violence/sexual assault center), Texas Alliance for Minorities in Engineering (TAME, a STEM Organization) and has volunteered with many STEM focused organizations including Girlstart.

Nasrin Rezai
Chief Information Officer, GE Capital

Nasrin Rezai is GE Capital’s Global Chief Information Security Officer and head of Corp. Security & Compliance Officer for the industrial GE businesses. Her previous roles include  SVP, Chief Tech. Risk Officer in the Enterprise Risk Management Organization at State Street and CTO of Security at Cisco Systems. Nasrin holds a master’s degree in business administration and a bachelor’s degree in information systems. She holds an Executive Certification from Harvard and Cambridge.

Throughout her career, Nasrin has promoted engineering, architecture in designing security solutions for large enterprises. She is passionate about helping others develop their potential, and mentors many young men and women. 

Alumna Honoree
Runi Duvall

Runi Duvall participated in the inaugural Girlstart program in 1997 and went on to earn a Bachelors Degree in Civil Engineering and a Masters degree in Construction Engineering and Project Management from The University of Texas at Austin. She has since spent nine years working in the construction industry and co-authored five journal articles promoting knowledge sharing and effective management practices on construction sites. Runi is a Senior Construction Manager for Hanger, Inc., the nation's leading provider of orthotic and prosthetic patient care and rehabilitative solutions.



Mystery Boxes

We are now accepting in-kind donations for our Mystery Boxes, which will be sold to attendees during the luncheon.

Click HERE to download the Mystery Box donation form.

Mystery Boxes are filled with great prizes valued from $30 (and more). Last year's donors included Kendra Scott, Tito's Vodka, Formula One tickets, Rae Cosmetics, Zach Scott Theater, Eliza Page, Kung Fu Saloon, Trace and MORE!



Become a Platinum Sponsor!

Become a Gold Sponsor!

Dana and Doug Hillary

Become a Silver Sponsor!


Suzanne and Ross Tobleman

Become a Bronze Sponsor!

Host Committee

Honorary Co-Chairs
Alissa Bayer and Shon Bayer

Tricia Berry
Silvia Brunet-Jones
Valerie Cason
Cassie Crist
Runi Duvall
Virginia Fleck
Katelena Hernandez Cowles
Dena Holliday
Becky Jeanes

Katy Lindsay
Kimberly Mansour
Erin Morales
Lindsey Strobel
Suzanne Tobleman
Marisa Tom